Alumni Association names Texas State’s most outstanding senior for 2022

Student Experience

Texas State University | April 28, 2022

lauren green headshot
<div class="newscaption">Lauren Green, LBJ Outstanding Senior Student</div>

Lauren Green is the recipient of the 2022 LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award presented annually by the Texas State University Alumni Association.

This award is named in honor of Distinguished Alumnus and 36th President of the United States, Lyndon B. Johnson, and recognizes graduating seniors who have shown outstanding leadership, character, campus and community involvement, and academic success.

Throughout Lauren Green's undergraduate career, she maintained excellent academic standing while being actively involved in the Texas State and San Marcos community. Green is a member of the Council of Scholars and has made the Dean's List every semester. She has also been an active member of the Women of Color forum, Alpha Psi Omega, and TXST Impact Chapter.

While serving as a member and President of Healthy Cats, Green was involved with various community outreach events that educated students on drug and alcohol safety, World AIDS Day Awareness, body positivity and wellness. She was awarded Innovative Program of the Year at the 2020 TXST Boko Awards for her Self-Love Outreach Program. Green was also named the 2021 Student Employee of the Year.

Outside of Texas State, Green has been an active community volunteer at the Hays Caldwell Women's Shelter, serving at the SOZO Kids Ministry and as nursery leader for the Moms of Preschoolers group.

In addition, she received the 2021 Regent's Student Scholar award from The Texas State University System (TSUS). Texas State President Denise M. Trauth held a reception in Green’s honor to recognize the prestigious TSUS accolade.

“It’s clear that Lauren is an incredibly bright, hard-working, promising young woman. We are fortunate she is a member of our Bobcat community,” said President Trauth.

She will graduate in May 2022 with a bachelor’s degree in fine arts and theatre.

For more information, contact University Communications:

Jayme Blaschke, 512-245-2555

Sandy Pantlik, 512-245-2922