Texas State University President Denise M. Trauth Announces Retirement

Inside TXST

Texas State University | August 20, 2021

Texas State University President Denise M. Trauth announced today that she will retire effective June 30, 2022.

“After almost 20 wonderful years in this position, I have decided it is time to move on to the next chapter of my life,” Trauth wrote in an email to Texas State students, faculty, and staff.

"There are no adequate words to describe the affection I have for Texas State and the first-rate people I have met and worked with here. Together, we have set our university on an incredible trajectory that will continue to serve our students, our community, and our state well into the future. I am proud of you; I am proud of us; and I am extremely proud of what we have accomplished together,” Trauth wrote.

trauth headshot
President Denise M. Trauth

Trauth became president of Texas State in 2002. Before joining Texas State, she was provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Under Dr. Trauth’s leadership, the university was designated a Texas Emerging Research University; has been reclassified as an “R2: Doctoral University – Higher Research Activity” under the Carnegie Classification system; became a federal Hispanic-Serving Institution; moved to the FBS subdivision of NCAA Division I; and has experienced its largest construction program since being founded in 1899.  The university has also greatly expanded the number and range of its academic programs, its external funding of research, and philanthropic giving.

“President Denise Trauth leaves an extraordinary legacy that will benefit Texas State University and its students for years to come. During her 20 years as president, she has overseen an era of unprecedented growth, expanded and improved two campuses, elevated the university’s research status, and led its evolution from a regional institution to one of statewide and national prominence. Texas State University is a better place to learn, teach, and work because of her service, drive and vision,” said said Texas State University System Chancellor Brian McCall.

In addition to her university responsibilities, President Trauth is a member of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas’ San Antonio Branch board of directors. She is a member and former president of the Austin Area Research Organization, is a member of the Philosophical Society of Texas, and is former President of the Greater San Marcos Partnership. She has served on the American Council on Education’s Commission on Women in Higher Education.  President Trauth has served as the Chair of the NCAA Division I Board of Directors and as an NCAA Division I Board representative to the NCAA Board of Governors. As a former member of the Sun Belt Conference Board of Directors, she served as President of the Sun Belt Board and as a member of the NCAA Presidential Forum.

President Trauth is the recipient of several prestigious awards. She received the Ohtli Award from the government of Mexico, the Carol A. Luthman Meritorious Service Award from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, the Austin Business Journal’s Women of Influence Special Achievement Award, the Girl Scouts’ Women of Distinction Award, the “Respect” Award for the First Tee Greater Austin 9 Core Values Awards, and the Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce State of Education Austin Human Capital Award.

She earned a bachelor’s degree in English at the College of Mount St. Joseph, a master’s degree in journalism at The Ohio State University, and a Ph.D. in mass communications at The University of Iowa.

She is married to Dr. John Huffman, professor emeritus at Bowling Green State University and UNC Charlotte. They have two daughters, four grandchildren, and three great-grandchildren.

For more information, contact University Communications:

Jayme Blaschke, 512-245-2555

Sandy Pantlik, 512-245-2922