5 from Texas State honored with TSUS Regents' Awards for 2023

Featured Faculty

Jayme Blaschke | August 14, 2023

The Texas State University System Foundation Board of Directors has named five Texas State University representatives recipients of the 2023 TSUS Regents’ Awards.

The annual Regents’ Awards recognize outstanding faculty, staff and students from the seven TSUS member institutions.

Arzu Ari, associate dean for research in the College of Health Professions and a professor in the Department of Respiratory Care; and Cyrus Cassells, a professor in the Department of English, received the Regents’ Professor Award. Catherine Cherrstrom, an associate professor in the Department of Organization, Workforce and Leadership Studies; Charise Pimentel, a professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction; and Jon Zmikly, a senior lecturer in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, received the Regents’ Teacher Award. 

The Regents’ Professor designation honors outstanding members of the system’s professoriate who have achieved excellence in teaching, research, publication and community service, while demonstrating an unwavering dedication to their students and university. Ari and Cassells are the 21st and 22nd TSUS Regents’ Professors to be honored at Texas State. 

The Regents' Teacher Award recognizes exceptional teachers based on their outstanding performance as educators, contributions to the development of courses and use of innovative teaching methods, among other criteria. Winners maintain the title of "Regents' Teacher" for the duration of their service within TSUS. Cherrstrom, Pimentel and Zmikly are the 10th, 11th and 12th recipients from Texas State.

Image Gallery

For more information, contact University Communications:

Jayme Blaschke, 512-245-2555

Sandy Pantlik, 512-245-2922