Texas State Naming Task Force announces deadline for submissions

Jayme Blaschke, Media Relations | November 19, 2020

composite photo of buildings

Texas State University Naming Task Force has announced Dec. 31 as the submission deadline to recognize the contributions of distinguished individuals from the Hispanic/Latina/o/x and Black communities to the university.

The Naming Task Force was established to facilitate the renaming of two residence halls – Angelina and San Gabriel located on the San Marcos Campus – and the naming of two unnamed streets on the Round Rock Campus. Submitted names should be of distinguished members of the Texas State family who are no longer employed or enrolled at Texas State, and who are members of Black or Hispanic/Latina/o/x communities. Submissions should include as much information as possible, as it will assist in the formal nomination process. 

The online submission form may be found at www.president.txstate.edu/naming-task-force.html.

The task force is co-chaired by Scott Bowman, associate professor in the School of Criminal Justice and special assistant to the Provost for inclusion and diversity, and Gloria Martinez, professor in the Department of Sociology, director of the Center for Diversity and Gender Studies, and director of the Latina/o Studies Minor. 

Questions regarding the nomination committee or process should be directed to Bowman at scott.bowman@txstate.edu or Martinez at gm21@txstate.edu.  

For more information, contact University Communications:

Jayme Blaschke, 512-245-2555

Sandy Pantlik, 512-245-2922