Texas Academic Leadership Academy accepts 5 Texas State faculty

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
Office of Media Relations
May 15, 2018

SAN MARCOS – The Texas Academic Leadership Academy (TALA) has accepted five Texas State University faculty members to the 2018-2019 cohort.

TALA is a new program sponsored by the Texas Council of Chief Academic Officers, which aims to elevate professional development opportunities for faculty and aspiring leaders in academic affairs. Aspiring leaders at all Texas institutions of higher education were eligible to participate, following nomination from the chief academic officer at their institution.

“Texas State is pleased to support the professional development of all faculty, including five outstanding faculty members engaged in the inaugural class of TALA,” said Texas State Provost Gene Bourgeois. “We look forward to their continuing success and contributions.”

TALA supports, prepares and enhances the leadership skills of those aspiring to department and college level leadership positions.

The five Texas State faculty members are Angela R. Ausbrooks, associate professor in the School of Social Work; Chad Booth, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; William Kelemen, professor and chair in the Department of Psychology; Minda Morren López, associate professor and associate chair in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction; and Claudia Roeschmann, associate professor in the School of Art and Design.

About Texas State University

Founded in 1899, Texas State University is among the largest universities in Texas with an enrollment of 38,694 students on campuses in San Marcos and Round Rock. Texas State’s 184,000-plus alumni are a powerful force in serving the economic workforce needs of Texas and throughout the world. Designated an Emerging Research University by the State of Texas, Texas State is classified under “Doctoral Universities: Higher Research Activity,” the second-highest designation for research institutions under the Carnegie classification system.