Texas State sends 5 theatre students to Kennedy Center nationals

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
March 11, 2015

Five theatre students from Texas State University have advanced as national finalists in the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival program, making 2015 the fifth year in a row that the university’s theatre program has produced at least three Kennedy Center finalists.

This year’s National Festival will be April 13-18 at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. 

Kevin Talley led the Bobcat contingent by winning the Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship, awarded for the best body of work. This marks the fourth straight year a Texas State student has won this award. Talley also placed second in the Harold and Mimi Steinberg National Student Playwriting Award, winning membership in the Dramatists Guild and with the Playwrights’ Center in Minneapolis, as well as a professional development residency to be mutually determined.

Other national finalists from Texas State are Joel Britt, first place for excellence in lighting design for his work on Rent; Austin "Trey" Sanchez, first place for excellence in stage management for his work on Rent; and Jordan Morille, the John Cauble Short Play award for Norma's Rent--the third year Morille has advanced to nationals in this category--as well as the 10-minute play award for Jars. Shelby Acosta will also travel to Washington as the musical theatre initiative regional winner.

Since 2001, the Texas State theatre program has been recognized through the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival program with two Producers Awards, three National Selection Team Fellowships, 35 national finalists and seven individual National Award winners.