In Brief: Texas State H-LSAMP students land competitive science positions

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
April 24, 2015

Eleven undergraduate students in Texas State University's Houston-Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (H-LSAMP) Scholars Program have been selected for a variety of competitive Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) internships and National Science Foundation Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) programs for the summer of 2015.

The students from the College of Science and Engineering will be engaged in work directly related to their areas of concentration, doing research and work in the field for universities and industries across the United States.

"These are highly sought after educational and career-related opportunities; we are very proud that our H-LSAMP students are representing Texas State around the nation," said Susan Romanella, H-LSAMP program director at Texas State. "In addition to their education in the classroom, it's important for our students to apply their knowledge and technical training via real world experience."

The H-LSAMP scholars' successes reflect the program’s goal of educating the next generation of talent in the STEM workforce. The H-LSAMP formal program enriches each participant's university experience through mentoring, undergraduate research and internships, academic and career conferences, peer tutoring, interdisciplinary learning opportunities, and individualized support. H-LSAMP scholars also form the core of the Collaborative Learning Center, helping fellow students in peer-to-peer collaborative learning.

The following H-LSAMP students have been accepted to summer REUs and STEM internships:

  • David Dzubay (industrial engineering) – Texas A&M University REU
  • Anthony Ledet (chemistry/microbiology) – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute REU
  • Jose Reyes (biochemistry) – Johns Hopkins University REU
  • Michael Rodriguez (electrical engineering) – Texas State University REU
  • Yusuf Agoro (electrical engineering) – MicroPower Global
  • Davontae Habbit (manufacturing engineering) – Boeing
  • Christina Heinich (computer science) – NASA, Langley Research Center
  • Kingsley Ike (industrial engineering) – UTC Aerospace Systems
  • Nathan Russell (electrical engineering) – Intel
  • Karina Yanez Portillo (industrial engineering) – HACU-United States Dept. of Veterans Affairs
  • Braylon Yarbrough (electrical engineering) – MicroPower Global

About the H-LSAMP Scholars Program

The Houston-Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Senior Alliance is a partnership among the National Science Foundation, Texas State University, Texas Southern University, the University of Houston, the Houston Community College System and the San Jacinto College District. The program is in its 15th year at Texas State and serves as co-lead for the H-LSAMP Senior Alliance. Structured as a community of scholars, H-LSAMP is designed to substantially increase the number of students graduating with baccalaureate degrees in the sciences, technology, engineering and mathematics, particularly students from diverse backgrounds.
For the latest updates, follow H-LSAMP on Facebook and on the website For more information about H-LSAMP, please contact