Society of Physics Students chapter honored with Marsh White Award

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
March 7, 2014

The Society of Physics Students chapter at Texas State University recently received the Marsh White Award from the national organization.

The Marsh White Award is a program aimed at assisting chapters in implementing projects designed to "promote interest in physics among students and the general public." Of the more than 700 chapters across the country and internationally, 15 or so are typically selected to receive this award annually.

The Texas State chapter’s project, "Elementary Physics Videos," builds on a relationship between the physics department and Sara Torres, the science coordinator at Travis Elementary School in San Marcos. The project will produce short videos that will be used by elementary school teachers to illustrate science concepts in a way that is accessible to their students.

The chapter will produce two videos: one which illustrates the concept of density and buoyancy using balloons filled with different gases, and one which demonstrates pressure by causing a 55 gallon drum to implode. Development of the project was led by the Texas State chapter president, Gregory Beuhler, and video development is being led by Patrick Lisk (density video), and Jessica Conn (pressure video). Completion of the videos is expected in early May.

For more information, contact Tom Myers at (512) 757-2077 or via email at