In Brief: Clinical Laboratory Science student, alum, faculty land honors

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
August 11, 2014

Two veterans of Texas State University's Clinical Laboratory Sciences program, as well as a faculty member, have earned honors at the 82nd Annual Meeting of the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS) held in Chicago, Ill.

Senior Jazmen Myers was elected as the national student forum vice chair during the event. Myers also serves as vice president of the Texas State CLS Student Society. She is the first Texas State student to serve as vice president.

Jasmin S. Davis, a 2011 graduate of the Texas State CLS program, was nominated as a new professional member of the year and also elected as communications co-coordinator for the new professionals and new members forum. She will serve as a liaison to the ASCLS board of directors and membership.

Rodney E. Rohde, professor and chair of the Clinical Laboratory Science program and associate dean for research in the College of Health Professions, was awarded the 2014 Scientific Research Award by the ASCLS.

For more information about the Texas State CLS Program, visit