Physical therapy faculty members honored at 2013 TPTA conference

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
November 18, 2013

Three faculty members from the Department of Physical Therapy at Texas State University were honored at Texas Physical Therapy Association’s Annual Conference in Arlington.

The largest physical therapy event in Texas, the 2013 TPTA conference set a record this year with an attendance in excess of 1,100.

Thomas F. Lawlor, PT, DPT received the Rex Nutt Physical Therapy Student Award that recognizes distinguished academic performance, clinical expertise, leadership and service.

Denise Gobert’s contributions to the practice of physical therapy were recognized by her receipt of the Tom Waugh Leadership Award.

Barbara Melzer was honored and remembered for her commitment to the profession with the William Gould Memorial Faculty Award.

About the Texas Physical Therapy Association

The Texas Physical Therapy Association is the representative body for physical therapists, physical therapist assistants and students in the state of Texas. Members support the physical therapy profession and represent all areas of practice from orthopedics to education.