Wayne Kraemer presented E.R. Nichols Award by Pi Kappa Delta

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
December 4, 2013

Wayne Kraemer, senior lecturer in the Department of Communication Studies at Texas State University, was awarded Pi Kappa Delta’s E. R. Nichols Award for “outstanding contributions to the furtherance of the forensics discipline” at the organization’s business meeting held in during the National Communication Association Convention in Washington, D.C., Nov. 21-24.

The award is recognized as the Pi Kappa Delta Outstanding Teaching Award. Immediate past President Gina Jensen of Webster University presented Kraemer with the award.

"It is impossible to think of college forensics without thinking of Wayne Kraemer," Jensen said.

Kraemer is the director of the LBJ Debate Society and the Elton Abernathy Forensics Society at Texas State, a position he has held since 1990. Spanning a 36 year career coaching speech and debate events on the intercollegiate level, he has received several national teaching and service awards including the Don Brownlee Award for Excellence in Teaching, Coaching and Service from the Cross Examination Debate Association; the Educator of the Year Award from the Texas Intercollegiate Forensics Association; and the Kevin Simmons National Coaching Award from San Diego State University. In addition, Kraemer was awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Service at Texas State in 2005. In addition to coaching the competitive teams he teaches courses in persuasion and argumentation and debate in the Department of Communication Studies.

About Pi Kappa Delta

Pi Kappa Delta is a national honorary consisting of educators, students and alumni that promotes intercollegiate speech and debate activities. The mission of the organization, according to its website, is to advance citizenship "through the use of ethical, humane, and inclusive communication and educational practices; support comprehensive approaches to forensics pedagogy and practice; encourage professional development opportunities for forensic educators; and seek to expand access to intercollegiate speech and debate activities." With more than 200 active chapters across the United States, Pi Kappa Delta advances its motto of "The Art of Persuasion, beautiful and just."

Texas State’s Pi Kappa Delta chapter was chartered in 1934. Three Texas State Distinguished Alums (J. Edwin Smith, York Wilbern, R.H. Bing) were among the 17 charter members. Lyndon B. Johnson’s debate coach H.M. Greene was also a charter member.