Baccus, Butler honored as TSUS Regents' Professors

Posted by University News Service

Nov. 23, 2010

 Texas State University-San Marcos Professors John Baccus and David Butler have been honored as Regents’ Professors by the Texas State University System Board of Regents.

 Baccus is a professor in the Department of Biology at Texas State. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Midwestern State University and a doctorate from the University of North Texas. He has taught at Texas State since 1975.

 Baccus specializes in wildlife biology with research interests in community ecology, ecology and management of white-tailed deer, and habitat management for endangered species.

 Butler is a professor in the Department of Geography at Texas State. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Nebraska-Omaha, a master’s degree from the University of Nebraska and a doctorate from the University of Kansas. He joined the Texas State faculty in 1997.

 Butler’s research interests and specializations include geomorphology, biogeography, natural hazards, mountain environments and environmental change, and Glacier National Park.

 Also honored as 2010 Regents’ Professors were Alessandro Bonanno, professor of sociology at Sam Houston State University, Keith Carter, professor of visual and performing arts at Lamar University, and Pamela Saur, professor of English and modern languages at Lamar University.

 With this announcement by the Board of Regents, these professors receive a $5,000 award and a commemorative medallion. They will also maintain the title of TSUS Regents’ Professor for the duration of their service. To be considered for the distinction of Regents’ Professor, nominees must be full time faculty members for no less than five consecutive years at a TSUS campus and demonstrate a record of distinguished teaching, research and scholarly activity; an outstanding record of service at the local, state and national levels; and a record of commitment to the university.

 The eight component institutions of the Texas State University System are committed to serving the people of Texas through education. They are Texas State University-San Marcos, Lamar Institute of Technology, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar State College-Port Arthur, Lamar University, San Houston State University, Sul Ross State University and Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College.