Ruth Taylor receives 2nd Fulbright Specialist Award to Peru

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
June 3, 2008

Texas State University-San Marcos Department of Marketing Professor Ruth Arleen Lesher Taylor has received a Fulbright Award to teach at the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos in Lima, Peru, during July 2008.

The Fulbright Award is a competitive international educational exchange program sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos is the oldest university in the western hemisphere. Taylor will conduct a master’s-level course that is part of a cooperative effort between the UNMSM college of business administration and the UNMSM college of engineering.  She will teach a course on “Marketing and Branding Strategy as Applied to Textile Wearing Apparel.”

This is Taylor’s second Fulbright Senior Specialist assignment to Peru.  In June 2006 she taught a training seminar at the University of Lima on “Using U.S. Federal Resources (STAT-USA/Internet and USA Trade Online) to Conduct Foreign Market Analyses.”

Taylor is one of more than 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. More than 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, chairman of the board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, professor of religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, president and CEO, Institute for Women's Policy Research; Percy R. Luney, Jr., dean and professor, college of law, Florida A&M University and Emily Vargas-Barone, founder and executive director of the RISE Institute.

For further information about the Fulbright Specialists Program, please contact or consult