Five to receive honors at University Star reunion

By Mark Hendricks
University News Service
April 3, 2007


Five former staff members will be honored April 28 during the second reunion of the University Star student newspaper at Texas State University-San Marcos.

Former Star staffers who will be inducted into the University Star Hall of Fame include Debbie Hiott, Jim Witt, Bruce Roche, Carlos Valdez Lozano and Bobby E. Clay Jr.

Hiott served as editor in chief of the Star in 1992. A 1992 journalism/news editorial graduate, she became an assistant metro editor of the Austin American-Statesman in 1999, assistant state editor in 2001, state editor in 2003, and metro editor later in 2003, before being appointed assistant managing editor over state, local and national news in 2005.

Witt was editor in chief of the Star in 1974. A 1974 journalism graduate, he is currently president and executive editor of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram.

Roche served as faculty adviser to the Star from 1958 to 1967. The former Texas State Journalism Department chair and News Service director later retired from the University of Alabama.

Valdez Lozano was a reporter and production manager for the Star from 1984 to 1987. A 1987 English graduate, he is currently assistant city editor of the Los Angeles Times.

Clay served as a staff writer and assistant manager of the Star from 1976 to 1978. A 1978 journalism graduate, he is currently senior editor of Sports Illustrated.

The inductions will take place during a reunion banquet April 28 in the LBJ Student Center on the Texas State campus.

The new inductees will join the initial members inducted into the hall of fame. The hall’s first inductee was Fred W. Adams, the man who started the paper in 1911. Among the initial inductees is former President Lyndon Baines Johnson, who served as the Star’s summer editor in 1927 and 1928.

Other initial inductees are Don Flores, former managing editor and editor in chief; Walter Richter, founder of the Journalism Department; Roy Willbern, former editor in chief and author of the White Star Story; Robert Huffaker, former member of the publication’s board; Charles Barsotti, former cartoonist; Edmond Komandosky, former adviser and editor in chief; Jeff Duffield, former sports editor; and Pat Murdock, former associate editor and laboratory instructor.

For more information about the second University Star Reunion and Hall of Fame Banquet contact Bob Bajackson, director, student publications, at 512-245-3487, or e-mail  Additional information is available at and