Charles, Gomez receive Muir Award

Date of release: 12/19/00

Joni Charles, associate professor of finance and economics


Mariko Gomez, director of financial assistance

SAN MARCOS, TEXAS — Joni Charles, associate professor of finance and economics, and Mariko Gomez, director of financial assistance, have received Southwest Texas State University’s first Mariel M. Muir Excellence in Mentoring Award, nominated by their peers for their dedication to mentoring.

The award honors faculty and staff who provide exceptional support and show commitment to assisting both students and colleagues through time, effort and advice. It was established in 1999 to honor and remember Mariel M. Muir, who served as the dean of the School of Science from 1992 until her death in 1996. The award recognizes her support and commitment to the growth and development of those around her.

Each dean sends one faculty nomination and each vice president sends two staff nominations to a selection committee made up of one graduate student and nine faculty and staff members. The award is then chosen for one faculty and one staff member. Winners are presented with a plaque from the president at a fall luncheon with the senior academic administrators.