In Brief: Four honored with 2015 Excellence in Diversity Award

By Alyssa Phillips
University News Service
August 25, 2015

Roque Mendez and Jonnie Wilson, as well as the team of Alba Melgar and Gloria Velasquez, have been named recipients of the 2015 Excellence in Diversity Award at Texas State University.

Roque is a professor in the Department of Psychology. Wilson works in the Office of Student Diversity and Inclusion. Melgar and Velasquez work together in the Department of Modern Languages.

The Excellence in Diversity Award is given annually to one faculty member, one staff member and one team who provide exceptional commitment to diversity at Texas State by promoting the university’s diversity goals.

A selection committee composed of faculty and staff reviewed the nominees for the awards. The recipients were recognized at the fall convocation.