Texas State faculty, staff honored during Fall 2015 Convocation

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
August 19, 2015

Texas State University President Denise Trauth presented several faculty and staff awards during the Fall 2015 Convocation.

This year’s recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching are Ann Burnette, associate professor of communication studies, and David Nolan, senior lecturer of mass communication.

The two recipients of this year’s Presidential Awards for Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Activities are Caitlin Gabor, professor of biology, and Ziliang Zong, assistant professor of computer science.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Service went to Steven Beebe, Regents’ and University Distinguished Professor of communication studies, and Dora Lopez, clinical lecturer in radiation therapy.

This year’s recipient of the 2014-15 Presidential Seminar Award was Carmen Westerberg, assistant professor of psychology.

The Alumni Association recognized Russ Hodges, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, as the recipient of the Teaching Award of Honor.

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation selected Vedaraman Sriraman, University Distinguished Professor of engineering technology, as Texas State’s 21st Piper Professor.

The Faculty Senate recognized Mary Ellen Cavitt, professor of music; Shirley Ogletree, professor of psychology; and Vedaraman Sriraman, University Distinguished Professor of engineering technology, as the recipients of the Everette Swinney Faculty Senate Teaching Award.

Ian Davidson, professor of music, was named 2014 Regents’ Professor by the Texas State University System Board of Regents, only the 22nd in the system so honored.

Joe Meyer, institutional research, was named 2015 Regents’ Staff Member, Texas State’s first staff member so honored.

This year’s new University Distinguished Professor is Don Olson, professor of physics.

The three retired faculty members who were named Distinguished Professors Emeriti were Gary Aron, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Biology; Priscilla Leder, Distinguished Professor Emerita of English; and Mary Ann Stutts, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Marketing.

This year’s recipients of the Excellence in Diversity Award were Jonnie Wilson, assistant director in the Office of Student Diversity and Inclusion; and Roque Mendez, professor of psychology.

This year’s team award went to Alba Melgar and Gloria Velasquez, senior lecturers of modern languages.

The award for 2014 Employee of the Year went to Steven Herrera, manager of shuttle service for Transportation Services.

Winners of this year’s Mariel Muir Mentoring Award were Keylan Morgan, grant director for Upward Bound, and Rodney Rohde, professor and chair of clinical laboratory science.

The full text of President Trauth's convocation speech may be found at www.president.txstate.edu/about-president-trauth/select-presentations/fall-convocation-2015.html.