Willoughby elected president of Association of Texas Graduate Schools

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
December 6, 2011

Mike Willoughby, dean of the Graduate College at Texas State University-San Marcos, has been elected president of the Association of Texas Graduate Schools (ATGS).

ATGS is the state’s professional organization for graduate education. Membership includes leaders in graduate education from Texas public and private universities. Willoughby served as president of ATGS several years ago and is the first dean to serve two terms as president. Texas State will host the next ATGS annual meeting in September, 2012.

Willoughby has been active in the national, regional and state graduate dean associations. He has served on committees and councils in each organization, as well as presented at annual meetings. Willoughby recently completed two terms on the Graduate Education Advisory Council, which provides recommendations to the Texas Commissioner of Higher Education. During the time Willoughby has served as dean, Texas State has added 12 doctoral programs, 73 master’s programs and 19 certificate programs.