Stephen Seidman named Dean of College of Science

Posted by Jayme Blaschke
University News Service
May 19, 2009

Stephen B. Seidman, whose areas of research lie in computing education and professionalism, has been named Dean of the College of Science at Texas State University-San Marcos.
Seidman comes to Texas State from the University of Central Arkansas in Conway, Ark., where he has served as dean of the college of natural sciences and mathematics since 2006. He will assume his duties in the college of science Aug. 15.
“I'm delighted to be coming to the College of Science at Texas State University,” Seidman said. “The college has created an exciting environment for learning and research in science, mathematics, engineering and technology. I am looking forward to the challenge of taking the College to the next level of excellence in all of its endeavors.”
Seidman studied mathematics at City College of New York, earning his B.S. in 1964. He followed that with his Master’s in 1965 and Ph.D. in 1969, both in mathematics from the University of Michigan.
“Dr. Seidman brings a wealth of experience as the Dean of Science at the University of Central Arkansas and the New Jersey Institute of Technology as well as Chair of Computer Science and Engineering at Auburn University and Colorado State University,” said Texas State Provost Perry Moore. “Dr. Seidman understands the opportunities and challenges within the sciences and engineering.”
Prior to his time at the University of Central Arkansas, Seidman was the founding dean of the College of Computing Sciences at the New Jersey Institute of Technology from 2001-05. He served as professor and chair of the department of computer science at Colorado State University from 1996-2001 and professor and head of the department of computer science and engineering at Auburn University from 1990-96. From 1972-90 he was on the mathematics and computer science faculty of George Mason University, and he was assistant professor of mathematics at New York University from 1969-72.
He has co-authored two books, IEEE Computer Society Real-World Software Engineering Problems: A Self-Study Guide for Today’s Software Professional with J.F. Naveda and Assembly Language Programming in COMPASS with P.Y. Wang, in addition to numerous papers, journal articles and chapters in edited texts.
Seidman’s honors include IEEE Computer Society Certified Software Development Professional (2005-08), IEEE Computer Society Golden Core Member (2004), IEEE Third Millennium Medal (2000) and Woodrow Wilson Fellow (1964).
Seidman is a senior member of the IEEE Computer Society and a member of ACM. He is a member of the board of directors of the Arkansas Science and Technology Authority and of CSAB, Inc. (formerly known as the Computer Science Accreditation Board).